Kevin Morby's Fam Club
Kevin’s Morby Fam Club Podcast
Five Easy Pieces live from a hotel outside of Martha’s Vineyard
3
0:00
-2:35

Five Easy Pieces live from a hotel outside of Martha’s Vineyard

Live from the Falmouth Inn room 245
3

This weekend I had the pleasure of playing the Beach Road festival on Martha’s Vineyard and tonight I’ll be playing the Madison Theatre on Long Island in New York and then returning home Monday after only walking out my front door on Thursday - I believe this is the definition of a Weekend Warrior.

I’m very adamant about rehearsal. I pride myself on a tight band and always try to fit in one or two days of practice ahead of any gig. This time, however, there was simply no time with all of our schedules and the only thing left to do was the next best thing: a hotel run through the night before.

After flying in from all of our respective homes the band and I didn’t make it to the hotel til around 10 PM Thursday night and we met in Cyrus and Collin’s room for a quick run through of the set list we had written for the next day. We performed unplugged and as quietly as possible as to not get the front desk called by any unhappy neighbors. Cochemea sang his saxophone parts, Stephen drummed on his knees, Greg, Cyrus and I played unplugged and Collin turned the speakers on his keys down low.

This hotel, The Falmouth Inn, despite its $500 a night rate, wasn’t “great”. It had some holes in the walls covered by duct tape and smelled like child’s sweat and mildew - but perhaps this is to be expected in any price gouging summer vacation destination in the North East.

Mildew or not, I cherish these little moments in hotels. Quietly performing the songs in a way we would never ever play them, late at night. Just my friends and I making some music - very quietly. I like to think someone in the room next door is silently enjoying it - but maybe that’s wishful thinking :)

The wall unit air conditioner rattled and hummed along with us, often drowning us out, as I hit record on a few of the songs. Here’s Five Easy Pieces.

enjoy xo


KM - Guitar and Vox

Cochemea Gastelum - Flute

Collin Croom - Keys

Cyrus Gengras - Guitar

Greg Roberts - Bass

Stephen Patterson - Drums

3 Comments
Kevin Morby's Fam Club
Kevin’s Morby Fam Club Podcast
All things k mo
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Kevin Morby